Successful CLMA Business Retreat

November 18, 2018 Posted by CLMA


42 CLMA Members experienced the  town hall forum presented at the CLMA Business Retreat!

The morning began with 7 presentations, giving updated plans, goals, suggestions for 2019 expansions and utilization of their product lines from:

Acuity Polymers, Inc. - Daniel Bell

Contamac - John Hibbs

DAC International - Chris Pantle

Larsen Equipment Design - Erik Larsen

Menicon American - Kurtis Brown

Misupco - Michael Fischer

Tangible Science - Karen Havenstrite


The GP Lens Committee presented the goals for this committee for 2019.  Focusing on 2019 GSLS sponsorship, conducting specialty contact lens education at some of the United States schools and colleges of Optometry, funding and supporting the GP Lens Institute, developing fulfillment items, and recognizing and facilitating new opportunities while always representing the membership of the CLMA are the goals, within the budget for 2019. 

Dr. Ed Bennett, Executive Director of the GP Lens Institute (GPLI) provided a recap of the August 2018 Residents Educational Weekend held at UMSL.  With 37 residents in attendance and 18 CLMA Ambassadors, much coordination was provided by WINK Productions for classes, lectures, hands on patient fittings, fellowship, and of course food!  

The GPLI also has a facebook page that was created for GPLI Advisory Board members and current and former Residents that have attended the "Residents Educational weekend".  Dr. Daniel Deligio, a former resident and now faculty at one of the optometric colleges,  is the administrator for this opportunity.

The incorporation of the GP Lens Institute (GPLI) to a 501(c)3 is ongoing.  The GPLI has been recognized as a Corporation within the state of Nebraska and plans are to submit the paperwork necessary to the IRS.  

A Board of Directors will be appointed which will consist of the 4 officers of the CLMA (Immediate Past President, President, Vice President and Secretary Treasurer), Dr. Ed Bennett and one or two of active members of the GPLI Advisory Board.

A prototype of a Myopia Control patient brochure was displayed with much discussion following.  Further development/ changes are underway.

New website: As of November 15, 2018 the new template has been launched ... updating the look of the website and ease of navigation.   


Elected to serve the membership of the CLMA for one year term of office:

CLMA  Board Officers

President - Kurtis Brown, Menicon America, Inc.

Vice President - Josh Adams, Valley Contax, Inc.

Secretary Treasurer - Derrell James, X-Cel Specialty Contacts, Inc.

CLMA Board Members

Daniel Bell - Acuity Polymers, Inc.

Michael Fischer - Misupco, Inc.

John Hibbs - Contamac, Inc.

Troy Miller - AccuLens, Inc.

Chris Pantle - DAC International, Inc.

Keith Parker - Advanced Vision Technologies, Inc.

Dr. Michael Ross - Euclid Systems Corp

and Immediate Past President:  Daren Nygren, Custom Craft Lens Service of Nevada, Inc.

The 2019 CLMA Board of Directors will be installed at the Rising Stars Reception 

January 26, 2019, The Havana Room in The Tropicana Hotel.  

Next entry: Clinical reports now available

Previous entry: Mark’ennovy completes Growth Funding

Leave a comment:

Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.